Potteric Carr

ROBIN

Three months to the day since I was last at Potteric Carr the main reason for today’s visit was to try and get a Bittern on picture. Arrived at 8:50am ready for the gates to open at 9:00am checking thro and getting the days permit at a cost of £3:00 I made my way down to the first hide, Decoy hide seeing Blue Tits  and Blackbirds on the way. Arriving at Decoy to be told that there was a Bittern showing and sure enough as I sat down he/she was making its way back into the reedbed and all I saw was the backside, so that was the Bittern shot for the day. I moved on to Old Eaa Marsh hide to see nothing, really, but I did hear the other bird I was hoping for Cetti’s Warbler it gave its unmistakable explosive call from the reedbed but was too far to get a view. Well I made my way down to the Willow Pool hide next seeing a Great Spotted Woodpecker, Chaffinch, Robin, Reed Bunting, Blue Tit, Coal Tit, Willow Tit, and Dunnock to name a few. On then to Piper Marsh hide to hopefully get that Bittern photo in one of the beat places to get close views. Birds about Pintail ♂, Shelduck, Gadwall, Mallard, Teal, Coot, Moorhen, Black Headed Gull but alas no Bittern, well there was about an hour before I arrived it wasn’t to be my day. I decided on a revisit to Willow Pool hide to take some more photos and may be get to see Water Rail that wasn’t to be either so I slowly made my way back to the car park adding Redwing and Bullfinch to the day list

Leave a Reply

